Darth Vader, The Sith Apprentice

In order to have the Anakin model look more like Darth Vader I decided to base him on a Mustafar lava looking base. I did this by covering most of the base in ballast and instead of using green stuff for the lava I used some school glue. This will give it a smooth surface devoid of any accidental fingerprints.

Once the glue was dry this is how the base turned out…not too bad I must say! The inspiration for the lava paint scheme came from my buddies over at Independent Painters Blog…their Mordor/Morgul bases are stunning!

And finally here is my Knight Models miniature of Anakin Skywalker as Darth Vader (pre-amputated & melted). The side view of his head you can just make out his yellow Sith eyes…I wanted to go back and make them brighter, but was afraid I’d ruin the purplish hue under and around the eyes if I did.

4 Responses to “Darth Vader, The Sith Apprentice”

  1. Rob Jones Says:

    Very nice, loving the lava base!

  2. Nicly done, the figure and base are very atmospheric and capture the early Darth Vader very well.

    Tony
    http://dampfpanzerwagon.blogspot.com/

  3. Thanks much guys!! 🙂

  4. […] tackled this miniature once already with my Knight Models Anakin, and now I decided to see what I can create with two of WotC’s miniatures…namely the […]

Leave a Reply

