Knight Models Chewbacca/C-3PO Review

As you regulars to my blog know, I simply love the Knight Models’ miniatures…excellent detail and a blast to paint up (working on Obi-Wan presently). For my birthday my wife got me their Chewbacca/C-3PO miniature. Outstanding detail on this one as well and he is separated from C-3PO so you can choose to add him or leave him off (Chewie’s back is fully detailed and has a pin to hold Threepio on).

Now, the only one problem I have, the scale is way off for a 30mm range, honestly he would do better in a 20-25mm range and looks a bit squat next to their Han Solo model. Here is a shot next to their Obi-Wan and a 25mm scale Gondor warrior from GW.

Now, for display purposes (which is what I will be doing with the model) it’s awesome! If you are going to be gaming with it, it might turn the scale Nazi’s off from getting this piece. All in all I’d give this one a solid 7 out of 10 and only due to the wookiee’s scale problems.

Keep up the great work Knight Models! 🙂

6 Responses to “Knight Models Chewbacca/C-3PO Review”

  1. Oooh the scale thing is a huge disappointment. Thanks for pointing that out. I hate to be a scale Nazi, but that really irks me. If they do a tiny Vader too, this line will really tank for me.

    On the plus side, having Threepio be optional is a great feature.

  2. Scale Fail 😦

  3. I hope they revisit this miniature and make him larger, but I don’t think it will happen. However it is a really nice model all the same.

    Oh and believe me, I am a scale Nazi when it comes to my Gondor army…all my warriors are metal due to the fact that the plastic units looked like children next to everything else…and that was very expensive. LOL

  4. Am I to assume that due to the ebay auction, you will not be going ahead with Chewpio? Myself, I think I’m going to do Threepio on a base by himself on the floor and crop Chewie and have him popping out of an AT-ST hatch.

  5. One thing I was considering doing was having Artoo dragging Threepio along the floor, but needed probably a 40mm base in order to pull that off and I didn’t have one. 😦

Leave a Reply

