Han Solo & Chewbacca On Hoth

After sending a few unwanted miniatures to a new home in Australia via eBay, I decided to purchase Han and Chewy and in the process also try out my new Skullcrafts Snow Flock. Of course I cannot leave well enough alone so I decided to do a little conversion work on Han. I removed his hooded head, replaced it with another Han Solo head and then resculpted the hood from green stuff. The nice thing about the replacement head is that his hair is blowing so it fits the model perfectly.

Now, when I painted Han I wanted to make sure I got the color of his jacket correct…for years I have always thought the thing was blue (and I nearly painted it that color) till I found this picture of the actual prop costume.

For Chewbacca, I just painted him as if he were in an indoor environment then when I applied the snow to his base I also glazed his fur with a bit of glue so that it would also stick to him to give that snow caked look from the scene in Empire Strikes Back. I went this way because I didn’t want the snow to look any different between fur and base.

Han Solo & Chewbacca


4 Responses to “Han Solo & Chewbacca On Hoth”

  1. Very cool! I really like how you captured the snow caught in Chewies fur. Good work.

    Also, i bought my first Knight Models sculpt – 30mm Darth Maul and it is exceptional. Worth the Β£$ in my opinion. Also repainting more wotc so pics on the blog soon.

    Keep going with your Star Wars minis as they are so inspiring to me.

    • Thanks Rob! πŸ™‚

      I too purchased a Darth Maul and Darth Vader back in December, but they were lost in the post…KM are sending replacements soon and hearing that Maul looks cool is really making me anxious to get mine.

      Looking forward to seeing him and more of your models up on the blog…you do some amazing work my friend!! πŸ™‚

  2. OMG!!! Wow unrecognizable to the originals. Amazing work Bots :BOW:

Leave a Reply

