Citadel Liquid Green Stuff Review

Games Workshop released a new product last week in the form of Liquid Green Stuff. Basically they say that this stuff is designed to fill in minor gaps in a model. Now normally I would just use my regular green stuff putty for these situations, but I needed to hit the $30 mark to avoid the shipping charge from GW so I picked up a pot to give it a try.

First off, always use the same brush for this stuff…one that has already run its course as a paint brush is what I would recommend, no sense in wasting a good brush on something like this. They (GW) say it will clean up with water, and it does, but as all painters know, excess paint can ruin a brush at the ferrule, so after some time playing around with this form of green stuff I can see it ruining a brush faster than being overzealous with paint on your brush.

As a test I used it to fill in the gaps in my Rusted Heroes Varu’Lfur model’s shoulders. I dipped my paint brush into my water first, then into the Liquid Green Stuff. When I applied it to the shoulder joint it was very easy to maneuver into the joint and with a couple of applications it filled up the gap nicely. As you can see there is still a slight gap in his armpit, but I left it until the upper part was dry.

All in all I am rather impressed by this stuff, and Iā€™m going to give this product a solid 8 out of 10.

5 Responses to “Citadel Liquid Green Stuff Review”

  1. Thanks for the review, I’ve been wondering this stuff myself. Do you think it would allow minor sculpting, like if the gap is on a warg fur and you need to create a hair texture on the filler?

    • Thanks Pasi and I’m glad the review was helpful! šŸ˜€
      No, it is pretty thin, so you’d have to really pile it on if you wanted to sculpt with it…and at the cost for how much you get it wouldn’t be a good idea. It really is only good for minor touch ups.

  2. Thanks for the review mate. I ordered mine last week so I should soon have a chance to see how it works šŸ™‚

  3. good review, I never heard of Rusted Heroes before so thanks for that too. some really nice miniatures there.

Leave a Reply

