Painting Quandary

Well, ever since I saw this miniature I’ve been uncertain on how to achieve this very cool freehand effect that the artist painted onto his cape…so I am coming to you, my faithful and talented blog followers, for some much needed insight on how to tackle this look. Please save me from tearing out what hair I have left on my stupid head, you’re my only hope. LOL

 

9 Responses to “Painting Quandary”

  1. I assume you are talking about the diamond lining of the cape? Here are a couple of ideas. If I was going to do that, I would use a low tack adhesive stencil and an airbrush preferably. Without an air brush, I’d still go the stencil route but use a dry brush technique. Of course I’ve never actually tried this on a miniature so if you are going to be fool enough to listen to me, please do a test or two first. Another technique to try would be to put a very thin layer of greenstuff down on the surface and scratch in the pattern while wet, then paint as normal. Good for you jumping right on to another KM, those finely detailed guys a bugger. I can hear all my all in one SWWEG’s break into hysterics every time I have a fit assembling their priceier more realistic descendants.

  2. Kobayashimaru Says:

    I think i’ve seen a mesh bag applied somewhere for the patterning, there were some behind the scenes photos over on Knights some time back as to grevious being painted.

    For mine, I went with a more clonewars appearance than the movie style theyve gone with =)

    Im sure it will turn out great no matter what (so long as you dont go wild and do a hothie-style hello kitty version, lol)

  3. Thanks guys….you’ve given me lots to think about. 😀
    This is going to be a tricky one to monkey with, that’s for sure.

  4. My biker scouts arrived today. I will be thinking of you while I’m trying to assemble these most sadistic multi-piece minis.

  5. Kobayashimaru Says:

    @R5Don4,
    Haha, i like the “most sadistic multi-piece minis” sentiment there! Knight figures certainly fit that description! You’ll have to post pictures of your finished product, Im sure they’ll turn out better than the bendy wotc ones.

    @Botwt, great work on the witchking! Cant wait to see how you tackle GG though

    • Thanks! 🙂
      I think I have a plan here…need to prime him and give it a go, should have some steps forward by this weekend.

  6. looking forward to it. hopefully I will too. I’m at step 7 of 16 assembling my first scout, pure evil.

Leave a Reply

