Sauron, The Necromancer Of Dol Guldur (Completed)

It has been a long time coming and I have finally finished my Necromancer model. I had a hell of a time getting the helmet insert to fit properly into the hood, so I’d work on it, then back to the shelf he went. Back and forth for what seemed like forever, but now he is completed and painted. I originally intended to have his armor glowing a ghostly blue, but have opted to go with just a simple metallic looking armor and a black cloak. I decided to go with this look as initially the White Council believed the Necromancer to be a NazgΓ»l, and a black robed figure seemed the best fit for that description.

Sauron, the Necromancer of Dol Guldur


9 Responses to “Sauron, The Necromancer Of Dol Guldur (Completed)”

  1. Great job mate, looking very dark and menacing, I do like the final effect!

    • Thanks brother! πŸ˜€
      I really wanted to attempt what you did on your The Tainted model, but wasn’t sure how to get the same effect with the flowing robe showing the underside so opted to leave it alone…for now.

  2. I was experimenting while working on the Tainted, I used a few shades of blue there (from GW palette, starting with regal blue mixed with black, pure regal blue, regal blue mixed with enchanted blue, enchanted blue with ice blue, ice blue and a little white in the end). The key was to leave some of the darker paint showing while applying a highlight.
    Still, I like the metallics as the go nicely with the dark look that fits the necromancer very well

    • Where the cloak flies up (in the front) and it looks as if you can see underneath it…would you leave that black or go even lighter blue? That is what really got me stumped. I was thinking of leaving it black, but then I just started to over think it. Color me confused hehe.

  3. I think leaving it black would work best πŸ™‚

  4. What is that model? I read from an earlier post that it’s a LotR collector model, but from where? Mithril?

  5. Leave it black, gotcha! πŸ˜€

    Oh, my bad Pasi…should have linked the model in that post…they are OOP but you can find them on eBay for the most part. Here is the link to the website http://www.lotr-models.co.uk/

  6. Kobayashimaru Says:

    Great! Sauron looks suitably sinister…

Leave a comment